Our Club



Warringah Aquatic Swim Club Inc – the Piranhas – was formed in 1982 by Nick Van Houten and Kay Middleton. The Club is based at the Warringah Aquatic Centre and the Club’s focus is on competitive swimming as well as catering for surf, open water and school swimming.


Our philosophy embraces swimmers of all ages and abilities and encourages swimmers to achieve the highest goals possible.


The Club facilitates opportunities for swimmers to compete at meets at all levels including Club, Sydney Metro, Regional NSW, State, National and International, and many Piranhas have represented Australia at the highest level. The Club is renowned and admired for its relaxed squads at major championships and the manner in which our swimmers compete and support their team mates during meets.


One of the most successful swimming clubs in Sydney, Warringah Aquatic Swim Club has produced an enviable Hall of Fame of athletes.  See below for a few articles about some of them.


Our Life Members


Graeme Carroll
Peter R Cross
Vicki Doyle
Tricia Graham
Julian Rifkin
Pam Robertson
Ginta Viliunas
Toby Williams